About Namibia

Namibia became an Independent Democratic Republic in 1990 after a long struggle for independence. The country enjoys a stable government under the presidency of Hifikepunye Pohamba and encourages inward investment to develop the wide opportunities available mainly in mining and tourism. The currency (Namibian dollar) is fixed to the South African Rand.




Capital City: Winhoek, Population 250,000

Language: English (official), Afrikaans, German and other indigenous languages.

Religion: Mainly Christian.

Political Parties: SWAPO (South West Africa Peoples Organisation), COD (Congress of Democrats) and DTA (Democratic Turnhalle Alliance).

International Membership: United Nations and a member of the Commonwealth.

Geography: Namibia covers an area of 824,270 sq km, occuped by a population of some 2 million and is bordered on the West by the Atlantic Ocean, the North by Angloa, the South by South Africa and the East by Botswana.

Economy: Major industries are mining, cattle, tourism and fishing. Major trading partners are South Africa, United Kingdom, Spain, Japan and USA.


Copyright © 2013 Namibian Resources plc, Craven House, West Street, Farnham, GU9 7EN. All rights reserved.
Registered in England No: 4140379. Registered Office: 302 High Street, Croydon, Surrey CR0 1NG.